London and Liverpool will be placed in level 2 of the new English COVID-19 restriction system, but Birmingham and Manchester will be in level 3.

Matt Hancock makes a statement in the House of Commons on the new COVID-19 levels, but before the announcement, the government launched a postcode checker for regions of England.

The domains of level 3 are:

Greater Manchester
Birmingham and Black Country
Newcastle upon Tyne
City of Wolverhampton
Kent and Medway
South Yorkshire
Redcar and Cleveland
South Tyneside
North Tyneside
County Durham
Blackburn with Darwen
The Humber
West Yorkshire
Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent
Warwickshire, Coventry, and Solihull
Derby and Derbyshire
Nottingham and Nottinghamshire
Leicester and Leicestershire
Slough (rest of Berkshire is level 2: high alert)
South Gloucestershire
North Somerset
The domains of level 2 are:

• City of Liverpool area
• London
• Warrington and Cheshire
• Cumbria
• York
• North Yorkshire
• Northamptonshire
• Rutland
• Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes
• Herefordshire
• Worcestershire
• Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin
• Essex, Thurrock and Southend on Sea
• Norfolk
• Suffolk
• Hertfordshire
• Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough
• Hampshire, Portsmouth and Southampton
• Surrey
• Buckinghamshire
• Oxfordshire
• Reading
• Wokingham
• Bracknell Forest
• Windsor and Maidenhead
• West Berkshire
• Dorset
• Bournemouth
• Christchurch
• Poole
• South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor
• Bath and North East Somerset
• Gloucestershire
• Wiltshire and Swindon
• Devon
• East Sussex
• West Sussex
• Brighton and Hove

COVID-19 update

Only three areas are at level 1:

Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
The tiered system has been strengthened since rules of origin were in place before the lockdown, with many more areas at higher tiers in an effort to reduce infection rates.

At level 3, there should be no mix of household indoors or in most outdoor areas, with reception areas closed except for taking out, drive-thru or delivery.

Indoor entertainment venues will also be closed, with people urged to avoid traveling outside the area if necessary.

At level 2, there should be no mix of households inside other than the support bubbles, with the rule of six applying outside.

Pubs and bars must close unless they function as restaurants, while hospitality establishments can only serve alcohol with large meals.

In a move to appease the anger of local leaders and Tory MPs, Boris Johnson vowed that the tiered allocations would be reviewed on December 16.

And in a bid to ease the shock for level 3 areas, ministers are promising them access to rapid-result COVID-19 tests to help reduce infections, as well as cash grants.

Additional liquidity will also be offered to zones placed at levels 2 and 3.

The health secretary said, “these are not easy decisions, but they were taken on the best clinical advice.”

Mr. Hancock told MPs: ‘Thanks to everyone’s shared sacrifice in recent weeks, by following national restrictions, we have been able to begin to bring the virus under control and slow its growth, relieving some of the pressure on the NHS.

“We will achieve this by reverting to a regional, multi-level approach, retaining the harshest measures for areas of the country where the prevalence remains too high.”